The Secret?

March 4, 2009 at 11:16 pm (Rambles) (, , , )

The Secret!? Maybe not.

The Secret!? Maybe not.

There are some people in the world (of course, this generalization includes me) who although absolutely negative in their view of the world, are yearning for a miracle, a secret, if you may, to transform their lives into something out of their wildest fantasies. They (ahem, ‘we’) expect something that is just ‘out there’ and waiting for ‘us’ (okay) to discover this, to grant them all they ever wished and yearned for. A ‘something’ that is better classified as a story taken from the Arabian Nights (read: Aladdin and the Magic Lamp) – however, with a twist of modern inspiration, insight and well, lets say, knowledge (metaphysics, anyone) which is all incomprehensible to the common man. Yet, so much more believable.

So, okay, GUILTY AS CHARGED.

A few months back, somewhere around November 2008, life couldn’t just get any better for me. Sinking into a deep depression, with everything but bankruptcy in the face, mixed with health issues and family problems, things were just perfect.

I used to cast my quality of Pessimism as just that; a quality. Quotes like, No expectations, no disappointments was a mantra I repeated rather religiously. Then someone in my close family recommends: THE SECRET. I discarded the notion, thinking its all in the mind, these things don’t work. Then my father, whose negativity often beats mine, all but pushes me into watching the DVD.

At the end of a bad day, I say, sure, what the hell, and give it a shot. Lo and behold, it’s like overnight I am a changed person! I believe with all heart and soul in the teachings and work on being all positive.

Trying out the ‘positive vibes’ on a few small things, I come up with near-miracles. Totally convinced now.

So here, I am changing myself, becoming positive, despite the in-your-face possibility of failures, and ho! Things are not really changing.

Sure, there are the late night Solitaire games I am winning without fail. And the parking space deal – working out to be just fine.  And also…umm, no that’s really about it. And be reminded, I’m nearly hitting dirt here otherwise. Things are bad.

And now I think; dude, you don’t have it in you. Despite all the trying, your negativity is probably coming into play. So whatever, half-heartedly or without much effort, I keep at the positive thinking, literally hand-to-mouth, right? Yet, I am just reminded every time, that something is amiss, and I keep on blaming myself.

Then one fine day, which is just very recently, I am craving ‘intelligent, meaningful conversation’ with anyone, which is not gossip or inane discussions poking fun at everything – but serious discussion about interesting stuff. And hah!

A friend of mine drops by at the office. Someone very well-read, exceptionally broad-minded about different concepts, the like. So I start telling her about this near-nirvana of the Secret in my life, and how I can’t seem to be working the magic in, because of my negative thinking.

As I said, this friend is very well-read. This means not that I would take everything word for word, whatever she says, but a reference is good enough to get me thinking. And what does she reveal to me? The LAW OF REPULSION.

The Law of Repulsion? Seriously? I mean all this time wasted, all the ‘positive thinking’, this near embarrassment of pasting a ‘Universal Cheque’ in front of the desk, the expectations of me becoming a Millionaire soon, blah blah – all stand null and void.

Really, I don’t know. I didn’t give the discussion much ear once I heard the negating concept of Repulsion. But then I knew what was amiss; common sense. Just pure logic.

Things don’t happen like that. Forget the world, civilizations past and beyond; let’s talk about me. I have the experience of knowing that nothing comes easy.  Let’s say the two extremes of the Law of Attraction and Repulsion exist – who has the time? Not me. I can’t start learning about metaphysics and energy; all this crap to learn how my life is going to get better.

Hell, with my comprehension skills, I might be around 50 when I learn how to work these things in. By then I will probably be suffering from Lung cancer and coughing up bloody phlegm.

Before writing this post, I thought about googling this concept. It exists. It’s a concept, sure, so are many other things. I don’t have time to work on this.

So where do I stand today?

I am a confused, half-baked optimist, possibly filing for bankruptcy sometime soon. How has THE SECRET helped me? Well, I am still winning the Solitaire games. Yeah that’s pretty much about it. No more parking spaces either.

I don’t know. Maybe it works for some, doesn’t work for others? Who cares? I need money, and stability; pronto. No bullshit.

And one of my first posts, about Irony and optimism? Sure, I still stand by that.

Optimism is good. Good for the system, good to hope, works in keeping things light. But, in moderation. Pessimism, keeps you a step ahead.

So now I agree on a middle point, not either extreme.

I am sooo generalized now. Sad.

Leave a comment